About Us

Welcome! The South Plains local section of the American Chemical Society was chartered in 1964 and includes the territory comprised of Roosevelt County in the State of New Mexico and Bailey, Borden, Cochran, Crosby, Dawson, Dickens, Floyd, Gaines, Garza, Hale, Hockley, Kent, Lamb, Lubbock, Motley, Terry, and Yoakum counties in the State of Texas.

We are centered in Lubbock, TX and serve the surrounding colleges and communities in western Texas and eastern New Mexico, including Wayland Baptist University (Plainview, TX), Lubbock Christian UniversityEastern New Mexico University (Portales, NM), South Plains College (Levelland, TX) and Texas Tech University (Lubbock, TX).

Our mission is to promote the chemical sciences through education, networking and community engagement for the benefit of our members and the citizens of the South Plains of Texas.